The heart cannot be given over wholly to God, unless it first be set free from every other love.

Posted on May 16, 2008. Filed under: Uncategorized |

St. Catherine of Siena
+
The desert is an interior detachment from every creature in which the soul neither pauses nor rests in anything.
-Saint John of the Cross

We want to get rid of everything that holds us down, everything that is selfish, so that we can love God perfectly.
– Father Robert Altier, OCDS
+
You must break with everything which is not I, you must make a desert for yourself where you will be as alone with Me as Saint Mary Magdalene was alone with Me in the desert. It is by detachment that you will arrive at that state.
– From the Diary of Blessed Charles de Foucald Soldier of the Spirit
+
Privileged soul, come apart, hide yourself – with Jesus, escape into the desert! It is there that manna falls from Heaven… Go into the desert, ascend to the heart of God! What wonderful works the good Master will accomplish in your dear soul if He finds it alone with Him!
– Saint Bernard of Clairvaux
+
Do you know, My daughter, who you are and who I am?
You are she who is not; I am He Who is.
– Words of Our Lord to Saint Catherine of Siena
The Dialogue
+

Give me, O my God, a thorough knowledge of myself! Let me be really convinced that I am nothing and that You are everything! Do not let me think that I am anything more than the nothing I am.
– Saint John Eudes
+
God refuses only the person who does not admit his own weakness; He sends away only the unhappy proud person. You must “hold him” well and strongly, with a poor spirit, with a poor heart, with a life entirely poor…The life of a soul who seeks true happiness clearly and indisputably depends on this: that those who seek their joy in God are the ones who give joy to God.
– Saint Raphael Kalinowski, OCD On Baptism and Religious Vows
+

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

