The Mass is the Church coming to the Father through the Son, united to Him as His Body and His Bride

Posted on May 19, 2008. Filed under: Uncategorized |

From Vultus Christi
Lectio Divina Archives
–>
Qui videt me, videt et Patrem meum.

At the Benedictus it is Our Lord himself who sings in the midst of His Church: “I am the way, and the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father but through Me, alleluia.” The Church cannot but reply: “Yes, Lord, you are the way, and the truth, and the life. Behold, I come to the Father through You.”

There is no better preparation for today’s Mass. The Mass is the Church coming to the Father through the Son, united to Him as His Body and His Bride.

excerpt of:
May 3, 2007
Qui videt me, videt et Patrem meum
Feast of Saints Philip and James, Apostles
John 14:6-14Psalm 18:2-51 Corinthians 15:1-8
Today’s Antiphons in the Divine Office

The first antiphon is Philip’s bold request: “Lord, show us the Father and it is enough for us, alleluia” (Jn 14:8). Philip’s prayer echoes that of Moses in the book of Exodus: “I pray thee, show me thy glory” (Ex 33:18).

The second antiphon is Our Lord’s astonishing reply. He presents Himself to Philip as the icon of the Father: “Philip, he who sees Me sees also My Father, alleluia” (Jn 14:9).

The third antiphon is a poignant complaint of the Heart of Christ. It is addressed not to Philip alone, but also to each of us: “Have I been so long a time with you, and you have not known Me? Philip, he who sees Me sees also My Father, alleluia” (Jn 14:9).

The fourth antiphon is a gentle reproach; it ends nonetheless in a triple alleluia. The reproach becomes a promise full of hope: “If you had known me, you would also have known My Father. And henceforth you do know Him, and you have seen Him, alleluia, alleluia, alleluia” (Jn 14:7).

The fifth antiphon is an appeal to love. Like the fourth it ends in a triple alleluia: “If you love Me, keep my commandments, alleluia, alleluia, alleluia” (Jn 14:15).

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

