St. Augustine – Behold, the ears of my heart are before you, O Lord: open them…

Posted on July 13, 2008. Filed under: Uncategorized |

Who shall grant me to repose in you?
By whose gift will you enter my heart;
and so inebriate it that I may
forget my own evils and
embrace you, my only good?
What are you to me?
Let me find grace to speak to you.
What am I to you, that
you should command me to love you…

What you are to me,
answer me for your mercy’s sake,
O Lord my God:
say to my soul- I am your salvation-
(Ps. 35[34],3)
Speak it aloud so that I may hear you.

Behold, the ears of my heart
are before you, O Lord: open them,
and say to my soul, -I am your salvation.-

I will run after that voice, and take hold of you.

St. Augustine

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

