Thou hypocrite, cast out first the beam in thy own eye, and then shalt thou see to cast out the mote out of thy brother’s eye – St. Matthew 7:5

Posted on July 24, 2008. Filed under: Uncategorized |

PRUDENCE IN ETERNAL AFFAIRS, BL. CLAUDE DE LA COLOMBIERE

***

Lately I have been thinking
that the obligation and desire of
working on ones’ sins and faults
and pursuing love of God in purity of heart in faith
is not selfish or self centered, or intolerant
(there, I said it!)
but it is
actually a work of charity
toward God, ourselves and others.

We are not to ignore the beam in our own eyes
and render ourselves blind…. and say we do not see the speck in
our brothers eye… as we all go over the cliff into the abyss.

We are in a battle.

We have obligation to get in spiritual “good shape” to
do our job of protecting the treasure God has entrusted
to us – His Divine grace in our souls. His life in us.
His work in the world. His Presence.

As the guardians of each others hearts and souls
-in charity we are seriously obliged to pursue the perfection
of the Gospel with God’s grace and to thereby
be made into instruments of God’s peace.

Peace was made by the Blood of His Cross.

God’s peace has nothing to do with calling good evil and evil good.
Grace is not cheap.
Look at Jesus Crucified.
Look at Mary beneath the cross.

We are to be prepared to be able to assist one another in removing
the blinding sins from our lives … this is an act of charity.
We are to hold each other up even when wounded and limping
all the way there. We are to pour in our tears and love to the wounds
and wrap them ’round with the bands of love.
The gift of good example is a powerful and precious remedy for the
toxic environment we are in.

Our actions speak louder and better than most of our words.

I dare not presume to correct others with my speech
while the beam in my own eye reminds me of my need for mercy
but my struggles to live what I know to be true,
even with the falls along the way are
a silent illustration of the Truth
a long as I do not excuse myself,
as long as I do not give up.

The grace flowing from the Heart of God
from my poor efforts at conversion may assist my brother
to realize his vision is impaired as well .

It is not selfish to choose the state of life
where one can best achieve the goal of their conversion
and sanctification.

Please read : PRUDENCE IN ETERNAL AFFAIRS, BL. CLAUDE DE LA COLOMBIERE
You cannot give what you do not have.
God deserves my entire heart.
Deus meus, et omnia!

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

