St. Joseph… as I read Fr Bellrose’s insight on him – I remembered this

Posted on December 18, 2008. Filed under: Uncategorized |

Once, maybe 15 years ago,

( praying during Adoration in a Monastery named for St. Joseph)
it occured to me that perhaps shortly after the birth of our Lord,
after the shepherds had visited and left, but that same night-
that St. Joseph stayed watchful and awake just watching
the Blessed Mother holding the Baby Jesus as they both slept.

St. Joseph wept as he recalled that he had nearly put her aside
– that he had nearly put God Himself aside if he
had chosen to put Mary aside.

I thought that maybe the first Hail Mary was then said by St. Joseph
and all the Holy Angels at that moment heard it.

Mary had surely told him of the Angel Gabriel’s words to her,
and of Elizabeth’s words. Then Joseph had just head the greeting
and message of the shepherds.

Even though we have no recorded words of St. Joseph –
I wonder if he- as Guardian of the Redeemer
and Patron of the Universal Church could not have had
the Church’s words already on his lips that night.

I believe that he prays with us each Hail Mary
even if the above is merely my own imagining.

____
Thank you, Fr.Bill Bellrose, for reminding me of this.
___
see also:
Chaplet St. Joseph, Man of Silence
Composed by Roberta Eicher
www.marysprayersrosaries.com/saint_joseph.asp

– Ave Maria!

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

